City Government

City Government

The City of Franklin is the county seat of Franklin County. The County's population as of 2019 is 2,987.

The City of Franklin is a City of the Second Class in the State of Nebraska incorporated on July 30, 1883. The City of Franklin has a mayor-council form of government with all city officials elected to four year terms of office. The City's population as of 2019 is 1,031.

City Officials

Mayor: Margaret Siel
City Council President: Kasey Loschen
Council Member: Fred Beall
Council Member: David Platt
Council Member: Sandy Urbina
City Attorney: Melodie Bellamy


The City of Franklin has a mayor-council form of government with all city officials elected to a four year term of office. City Council meetings are held at 7:30 pm on the 2nd Tuesday of each month at City Hall located at 619 15th Ave., Franklin, NE 68939. The public is welcome.

Community Development Authority Board

Chairwoman: Margaret Siel
Member: Kasey Loschen
Member: Fred Beall
Member: David Platt
Member: Sandy Urbina

Franklin Capital Improvement Plan

View the PDF — Franklin CIP 2021-2026

City Departments

Administrative & City Hall

City Clerk & Treasurer: Raquel Felzien
Deputy Clerk: Michelle Kahrs

City Hall is open Monday through Friday from 8:00am to 4:30pm.

Board of Health

Chairwoman: Dr. Linda Mazour
Board Members Include: Mayor, City Council & Chief of Police

Cemetery & Parks

Cemetery & Parks Groundskeeper: Cory Davis
Chairwoman: Cindy Dean
Board Member: Machelle Havenridge
Board Member: Dan Dorn
Board Member: Sharon Wiedel
Board Member: Betty Davis
Council Representative: David Platt

Power Plant & Electrical Utilities

Power Plant: Mike Bower
Utility Worker: Shannon Carraher

Public Library

Head Librarian: Amanda Shelton
Assistant Librarian: Cindy Seifert
Chairwoman of the Board: Joan Dorn
Board Member: Currently Vacant
Board Member: Melinda Siel
Board Member: Linda Herrick
Board Member: Susie Headrick

Library Phone Number: (308) 425-3162

Franklin Public Library is open during the following times:
Monday: 10:00am - 6:00pm - Starting March 6, 2023
Tuesday: CLOSED
Wednesday: 10:00am - 5:00pm
Thursday: 10:00am - 6:00pm
Friday: 10:00am - 5:00pm
Saturday: 9:00am - 12:00pm
Sunday: CLOSED

Franklin Police Department

Chief of Police: Jennifer Woodis
Police Officer: Currently Vacant

Recreation & Ball Park Committee

Chairman: Adam Boettcher
Member: Jessica Goosic
Member: Kathy Peterman
Member: Shad Ingram
Member: Kelsey Sindt
Council Representative: Kasey Loschen

Street Management

Street Superintendent: Barry Rubendall

Waste Reduction & Sanitation

Sanitation & Recycling Operator: Jr. Stover

The Franklin Recycling Center is open during the following times:
Monday & Thursday: 7:00am - 12:00pm, 1:00pm - 4:00pm
Saturday: 8:00am - 12:00pm

Trash Pickup Days:
East of Highway 10: Tuesdays
West of Highway 10: Fridays

Water & Sewer Operations

Water & Sewer Operator: Drew Boston

City Planning & Zoning Board

Zoning Administrator: Jr. Stover
Chairman: Jerrell Gerdes
Board Member: Steve Schmidt
Board Member: Dave Duncan
Board Member: Mike Stephens
Board Member: Kim Naden

City Board of Adjustment

Board Member: Jim Urbina
Board Member: Rich Siel
Board Member: Rick Dean
Board Member: Dave Duncan
Board Member: Rhn Jacobsen

Send us a message

Thank you! Your submission has been received!
Oops! Something went wrong while submitting the form.